This monastery - formerly one of the most important in Ireland is one of Dublin's best kept medieval secrets where visitors can admire the vaulted chamber of the Chapter House and follow the display which outlines the rich history of the abbey.
In 1534, the monastery was dissolved. It became a quarry, whose stones were used in many 17th-century constructions.
Two rooms remain, the Chapter House and the Slype. The Office of Public Works, joined with the Dublin Archaeological Society and the History of Art Department of Trinity College, Dublin, in putting together an interesting exhibition.
Today it contains a fascinating exhibition put together by the Office of Public Works along with the Dublin Archaeological Society and the History of Art Department of Trinity College, Dublin.